Still and Yet

It is still much too hot.  I’m fully aware of the fact that my friends in Texas are sufferring temperatures to which the Midwest cannot dream to aspire (not that it would want to), but I’d still set our humidity up against theirs any day.  (95% humidity?  Couldn’t it just rain?)

As the degree of humidity rises, the degree of my patience lessens.  By this point I don’t want to spend more than 5 minutes making any meal, and no food substance should require the use of heat to render it consumable.  (When it’s 75+ degrees outside in the pitch black dark of night and one has to swim through the air, even morning tea is out of the question).

Unsurprisingly, I’ve been eating a lot of salads.  A big bowl, a few good ingredients, a little light chopping: dinner. 

Tonight was even simpler than usual.  No fruit.  No cheese.  No toasted nuts.  Into the bowl went about 5 ounces of baby spinach (torn into very small pieces), 1 fennel bulb (diced to microscopic size), 6 ounces of crabmeat and a dressing of lime juice, lime zest, champagne vinegar, vegetable oil, salt, white pepper, and a tablespoon of mayonnaise (because I had no desire to try to mess around emulsifying an egg yolk, but I still wanted the non-dairy creaminess of such an amalgamation). 

I tossed it all together, then sat in the coolest room in the house to eat it–mostly with a fork, but eventually with a spoon, when I got down to the bottom of the bowl.  The sweetness of both the crab and the fennel played off of each other–fennel isn’t as sweet as, say, corn, and it’s brightness and crunchiness elevated the richness of the crab.  The spinach was a chewy background for the strong flavors and the whole of the salad was very satisfying. 

I chased the meal with a perfectly ripe peach, so well chilled in the back of the fridge that it gave me brain-freeze.  Now, I should be able to get through the rest of the evening easily if I can just balance this bag of ice on top of my head. . . .

Published in: on August 10, 2007 at 7:26 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pouletbasquaise.wordpress.com/2007/08/10/still-and-yet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

