A Massivity of Mint

What, exactly, does one do with a terrifyingly overgrown pot of mint?  This isn’t a lead-in to a clever recipe, I really want to know. 

I have an enormous, overflowing terracotta pot of mint out in the backyard, sending creeping tendrils of ginger-mint and chocolate mint out to colonize the neighboring pots of parsley and chervil, and I can’t think of a blessed thing to do with it before the snow flies. 

Correction: I can think of two unfortunately small things to do with it.  I can make mint (or chocolate-mint) ice cream, but that will take a cup or two of leaves at most, which would be less than 1/16th of my bounty.  I could make mint liqueur (or at least, I could try: all of the recipes seem to include copious amounts of glycerine and other strange additives, which a friend of mine with brewing expertise says are necessary, even though he can’t tell me why).  Why can’t I infuse vodka with mint if I can infuse it with rose geraniums or lemon verbena?  I do not know.  I’ll probably try it even with those warnings ringing in my ears.

But still: that will use up another cup or two of leaves.  What do I do with the rest of it?  One can’t exactly use chocolate mint in a savory application (and I’m none too fond of mint in savory dishes anyway), but the ginger could work in such a capacity; I just don’t have any ideas for it.

What should I do, make the world’s weirdest mojito?  Just go garnish-crasy?  Suggestions?  Suggestions? 

Published in: on September 18, 2007 at 6:27 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pouletbasquaise.wordpress.com/2007/09/18/a-massivity-of-mint/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m always a fan of mojitos, of course. Lots and lots of mojitos.

    Instead of going for a mint liqueur, could you try making a mint extract? From the little I know of the process it’s basically making a more concentrated liqueur, right? So there’s a few more cups of leaves for something that won’t really age poorly.

  2. Candy them? I bet that would be yummy. And of course there’s mint pesto (using the ginger variety) and mint jelly (the chocolate). Mmmm… lamb chops. Moroccan mint tea (which makes a great granita too). You can dry it for future use. Mint syrup…which can lead to mint candy. Raita (minty yogurt sauce) for an Indian meal. Mint is also good with peas. All manner of Middle Eastern/Mediterranean vegetable dishes, actually. I like that zucchini and feta dish with dill, mint, and any other fresh herb if have in the fridge. Also good in spanakopita, though I know you don’t like cooked spinach. Anyway, those are my ideas, though I’ve never tasted chocolate or ginger mints so I don’t know if they are good options.


Leave a Reply

